Life

They Just Want Attention

I’ve had anxiety for a couple of years now and recently was also diagnosed with depression. Outside of all of this I’ve pretty much always been a pretty private person (it could have been early signs of my anxiety) so it’s been very hard for me to reach out for support and help and to let people know whats going on with me.

There have been several occasions that I have seen people posting things about how they wish people would stop posting things about having mental illness/issues etc because there’s probably nothing wrong with them and it seems like they’re just begging for attention. SO THE FUCK WHAT IF THEY ARE? I’m sure that people who are saying things like this don’t understand how hard it can be to express what’s going on with a person when they are dealing with things like this, how alone or isolated they may feel or how hard it is to even come to terms with the fact that they are struggling.

Now, I have seen times where people will say they are “crazy” or “bi-polar” thinking it’s funny or just to be cute. If this is you PLEASE CHILL (stuff like this just adds to the already existing stigmas about people with mental illness). If you really do feel as if there is something going on SEEK help ASAP. Even if you don’t necessarily “NEED” therapy, its great to have someone with an objective perspective to talk to and who can give you advice and tips.

Seeing things complaining about people begging for attention just makes it harder to reach out for help and support, which in all honesty, when you do see that you do have support and have people in your corner and that you’re not alone in what you’re going through it helps (its been helping me anyway).

Luckily, Ive been working on/have somewhat learned how to block out what people on social media are saying. No ones opinion on someone trying to reach out for help/support really matters.

5 thoughts on “They Just Want Attention

    1. Thank you! Even if you feel like its mild it helps sooo much to talk it out with someone. If you dont feel comfortable with seeing a one on one therapist you can go to a support group or there are online sites for therapy now as well. Also, if you need some quick coping tips I have a post with some. I’ll comment with the link

      Like

  1. As someone who’s struggled with both depression and anxiety myself, I couldn’t agree more. I think for a lot of people, when it comes to “sickness” or “problems” if you can’t see it, it must not exist. And that way of thinking only hurts the people struggling even more (or at least in my case it does) cause that just makes it harder to ask fo help. But all in all, well said. Thank you for the post. (Even though pretty I’m late)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, also many dont understand just how bad it gets or how to react when someone expresses what they’re going through. It definitely does, it makes it so much harder. Thank you so much!!! Better late than never haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment